Open Division      Women's Divsion      Masters Division 
Farricker Spirit Award   Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award    Marty Bakko Spirit Award


The Farricker Spirit Award


The Farricker Spirit Award is given to the player in the open division of the USA Ultimate's Club Championship Series adjudged to have exhibited personal responsibility, integrity, and fairness combined with a high standard of playing ability. Each qualifying open team nominates one player from their own team as the person who best represents Spirit of the Game. During the open championship game, each nominee is honored with a disc, pin or set of Mardi Gras beads. The hope is that the people wearing the Mardi Gras beads will be connected to Pete, each other and the Spirit of the Game, and will become role models for their teammates and opponents.

About Peter Farricker
Peter "Wheels" Farricker was a person of spirit — teammate, friend, brother, son, husband and father. He was swift, clever, funny, smart, kind, and he attracted people with an ease and calmness many admired. Fair on the field, he was strong in skill, superior outside the lines. He was champion in many ways. Taken seriously without being overly serious, loved by many, he was and is for many of us a model of what we hope we can be.

2016 Recipient: Owen Westbrook, Johnny Bravo
2015 Recipient: Ashlin Joye, Revolver
2014 Recipient: Danny Clark, Ironside
2013 Recipient: Beau Kittredge, Revolver
2012 Recipient: Martin Cochran, Revolver

2011 Recipient: Matt Rebholz, Ironside

2010 Recipient: Bart Watson, Revolver
2009 Recipient: Robbie Cahill, Revolver
2008 Recipient: Josh McCarthy, Ironside
2007 Recipient: Chase Sparling-Beckley, Sockeye
2006 Recipient: Allan Cowan, Furious George
2005 Recipient: Jeffrey Eastham-Anderson, Jam

2004 Recipient: Damien Scott, Jam
2003 Recipient: Andy Crews, Condors
2002 Recipient: Moses Rifkin, Death or Glory


The Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award

Purpose of the Award

Given the seminal importance of the Spirit of the Game to our sport, the USA Ultimate Board of Directors approved the addition of a sister honor to the Farricker Spirit Award and established the Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award on January 17, 2004. This award will be made to the woman player who best exemplifies both the ethos of the SOTG, along with a personal commitment to giving back to the sport.

The Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award is given to the player(s) adjudged to have exhibited personal responsibility, integrity, and selfless contribution to Ultimate, combined with a high standard of playing ability.


About Kathy Pufahl

For those who knew Kathy Pufahl as a player, no one better exemplified the combination of fierce, fun loving competitor, as well as, her selfless, ongoing contribution to the betterment of Ultimate. From the winter edition of the UPA Ultimate News magazine: "On the field, Kath helped build women's Ultimate and several of its early teams, setting the pace for high-quality and fair play. Off the field, she helped build the structure, and the spirit, of the game we know today. She organized tournaments, wrote and mailed newsletters, organized the women's college division, co-wrote (with Sholom "Eric" Simon) the first update to the Ninth Edition rules, and played a crucial role throughout the 1980-90s in developing and overseeing the administrative responsibilities of the UPA and served as the second women's national director from 1985 to 1988. She was the first managing director of the UPA and ran the first official UPA headquarters in an office near her home. She was relentless yet thoughtful, as she endeavored to lay the foundation of the structure of the game and the UPA."


Value to USA Ultimate

Since the game was invented in 1968, ultimate has proudly promoted one aspect of the game more that any other: the spirit of fair play. While some of the very first games ever played did, in fact, have referees, soon they disappeared in favor of self-officiating, something we now call The Spirit of the Game.

As ultimate becomes more and more popular, we know SOTG sets us apart. With the Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award, we also want to honor the individual who gives back. Without the selfless contributions from players of all levels of play, the sport of ultimate would not have grown throughout the years. By honoring a national caliber player who exemplifies both SOTG and individual contribution to our sport, we can elevate the core value of giving back.

With the Kathy Pufahl Spirit Award, we create an award that recognizes both competition and contribution and can help to elevate the value of giving back at the highest levels of our sport.

2016 Recipient: Anna Nazarov, Fury
2015 Recipient: Alex Snyder, Fury
2014 Recipient: Leila Tunnell, Brute Squad
2013 Recipient: Nancy Sun, Fury

2012 Recipient: Lauren Casey, Fury

2011 Recipient: Gwen Ambler, Riot

2010 Recipient: Michelle Ng, Showdown
2009 Recipient: Jody Dozono, Fury
2008 Recipient: Allison Boyd, Rare Air
2007 Recipient: DeAnna Ball, MOJO
2006 Recipient: Kris Gill, Bnogo
2005 Recipient: Kati Halmos, Riot

2004 Recipient: Vida Towne, Riot

The Marty Bakko Spirit Award

Established in 2010, the Marty Bakko Spirit Award is presented to a player from the Club Championships Masters Division who best exemplifies SOTG.  The award was created in honor of the late Marty Bakko (Surly).  The masters division spirit award honors players that embody the best attributes of ultimate.  Like Marty Bakko, these individuals: have an infectious sense of humor; possess a long-term passion for the sport of ultimate; display a commitment to fair play, integrity and respect for their opponent; are shrewd, tactical innovators on the field; show an intense, competitive Spirit; and are leaders who inspire others to act. Each qualifying masters team nominates one player from its roster as the person who best represents the Spirit of the Game and the qualities listed above.

2016 Recipient: Tim Jacobson, Surly Cynics
2015 Recipient: 
Chris McManus, Beyondors
2014 Recipient: Lincoln Wilson, Slow Country Boil
2013 Recipient: Alfonso Acosta, Tejas
2012 Recipient: 
David Remucal, Johnny Encore
2011 Recipient: Russ Adams, Surly
2010 Recipient: Blayne Ferguson, GLUM


Also see:

College Awards

Coaching Awards