North Carolina Darkside Wins the 2015 D-I College Men's Title

Posted: May 26, 2015 09:59 AM
2015DICollegeLogo 435x290  

North Carolina Darkside wins the 2015 D-I College Men's Championship over Oregon Ego, the first national title in the history of the University of North Carolina's ultimate program. 

Related Links:


Despite the driving wind at Milwaukee’s Uihlein Soccer Park, North Carolina Darkside kept their composure and executed ruthlessly to capture the first national championship in the history of Chapel Hill’s ultimate program.

Dylan Freechild put his team on his back in the first half, throwing three assists and catching one goal to figure in every Ego first-half score. But North Carolina’s clam defense, which coach Mike DeNardis made sure to keep under wraps until the national championships, proved nearly unsolvable for the Ego offense. Between the first and second halves, that defense sent Darkside on a 7-0 run that put the game out of reach for Oregon.

In a fitting end to both college careers, Ben Snell – a year removed from a torn ACL – found a laying out 2015 Callahan Award winner Jonathan Nethercutt for Darkside’s championship goal.

All-Tournament Starting Seven

Connor Holcombe, Florida State (24G, 8A)

DUF’s electrifying cutter led the tournament in goals with Illinois’ Nick Prozorovsky. His athleticism proved just as valuable on the defensive side of the disc, as well.

Jeff Babbitt, Massachusetts
Massachusetts’ "Monstar" turned in multiple performances with at least four goals and four assists. He was the tournament’s most dangerous deep threat, and he should be a frontrunner in the 2016 Callahan discussion.

Jonathan Nethercutt, North Carolina
The 2015 Callahan winner led the tournament in assists to propel Darkside to their first national title. His smooth handling ensured offensive consistency and punished opponents after turnovers.

Chris LaRocque, Florida State
Florida State’s Callahan nominee was the team’s anchor on both sides of the disc, operating as DUF’s central handler and effectively covering opponents’ most challenging marks (including Babbitt).

Chase Cunningham, Texas
Texas’ Callahan nominee was especially dynamic and instrumental in TUFF’s surprise finish at the top of Pool A. He leveraged his size and throwing prowess to lead his team with 15 assists.

Dylan Freechild, Oregon
The 2013 Callahan winner was relentless behind the disc in Oregon’s surprising surge to the national title game. As his college career concluded, he threw more assists than any other player at the national championships, excepting Nethercutt and LaRocque.

Jeremy Langdon, Central Florida
Langdon did everything for Central Florida: he frustrated opposing handlers, launched deep shots and got open for teammates Brawley Adams, Alex Bullock and Michael Fairley.  He capped off his college career with a second semifinals appearance.

Fast Facts

  • The last time two Callahan winners faced off in a title game: Josh Ziperstein and Brown University’s Brownian Motion defeated Josh Ackley and Colorado Mamabird on double-game point in 2005.

  • For the second year in a row, the Callahan winner takes home the national championship in the men’s division. Jonathan Nethercutt and North Carolina Darkside captured the title a year after losing to 2014 Callahan winner Jimmy Mickle and Colorado Mamabird.

  • Oregon was the first non-pool winner to reach the national championship game (since the 2009 tournament format change).


You can watch the 2015 men’s championship game, as well as the both semifinal match ups, in their entirety on ESPN3 at